Just another WordPress.com site

New Cutting Torch Work

Much progress has been made this week. A backhoe person has been found for next week. Precinct commissioner told me about a cheaper plumber for phase 1 who I’m meeting w in AM.

I bought a small cutting torch from Lowes for $300. The tanks are tiny, but I managed to cut up all the pipes under the demolished house & the excess rebar on the foundation piers w one tank full.

This morning I refilled them @ AirGas in Odessa and almost cut one complete door out (~12″ short). I went back to Odessa to refill the tanks then got a lot more done. I welded the metal plates to the piers, finished cutting the door I started then cut the next door almost completely except for ~6″. I re-read the instructions for both cutting & welding before I welded. It was much clearer the 2nd time w a little experience. It’s not the heat melting the steel but the heat inducing a chemical in the steel: turn iron into iron peroxide which is a liquid at a lower temp. Hence the bubbles in the slag as the excess O2 leaves.

20120522-214850.jpg

3 responses

  1. NYCflyangler

    Wouldn’t a cut off disk on an angle grinder work better for cutting out panels and the other things with much less fuss and more accuracy?

    May 23, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    • 1) Shipping containers are made of super strong Cor-Ten steel. Those folks who used an angle grinder for their houses went through a LOT of discs for one simple cut.
      2) I do not yet have electricity on site. Pole is erected, but there’s no power to it & no outlet to plug into either. Cutting torch was fast, easy (prior experience), & simple. I can also weld w it so I don’t need an extra machine or contractor when I weld the door & window frames.
      3) Like most tools, a cutting torch is an investment. I can use this same torch for my next 6 containers & other projects instead of having to re-invest in 5 dozen discs for each one. How many discs can I buy for $23, the cost of oxy-acetylene for one door? If I want to do this more commercially then larger tanks & related parts would be an additional investment, but it’s not needed for this project.

      May 24, 2012 at 8:44 pm

      • Now that I have electricity, I got my angle grinder out to clean up the cutting torch edges & smooth the thresholds & other odds & ends. I smoothed both door thresholds, cleaned up one door edge & one-fourth of one window. I did this using 6(!) 4.5″ angle grinder wheels. Each threshold took one complete wheel each. Total time to do all this was ~4 hrs. @$3/wheel, that means I spent $18 in 4 hours to do a minimum clean up on the above over that time frame. Now imagine attempting to cut all of this from clean walls using only the angle grinder as opposed to the speed with which I cut the windows & doors w the torch.

        Cut w torch.
        Clean w grinder.
        Definitely.

        September 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

